Three of the seven seats on the AAMDC Board of Directors will be up for election at the Fall 2012 Convention:

  1. President (2012 – 2014)
  2. Director for District 1 – Foothills-Little Bow  (2012 – 2014)
  3. Director for District 4 – Northern (2012 - 2014)

Serving on the AAMDC board is an opportunity to help shape the direction and future of your organization and serve the rural municipalities of Alberta.

Only duly elected councillors of full-member municipalities in good standing with the AAMDC are eligible to hold a position on the Board of Directors. For the position of district director, councillors must also represent a municipality that is within the district that is up for election.  Click here to determine which municipalities are in each district, or visit our website under About > Members.


Please refer to the convention agenda, available here, for specific nomination and election times. All nominations must be made from the floor and require a mover and a seconder. Both the mover and seconder may speak for a total of two minutes. Each electoral candidate will have five minutes to speak.

All terms will begin at the first board meeting following the Fall 2012 Convention. Electronic voting will be used for the election of the AAMDC president and all district elections will be conducted by a ballot vote. If no candidate receives a clear majority (50 per cent plus one) of ballots cast, the candidate with the fewest votes will be dropped, and another vote will occur. This process will be followed until one candidate receives the necessary clear majority.

Enquiries may be directed to:

Tasha Blumenthal
Policy Analyst

Kim Heyman
Director of Advocacy & Communications

In This Section

Get Contact!

Contact! is the AAMDC's weekly newsletter. Sign up to receive the latest municipal, provincial and federal news affecting rural Alberta.
Please wait