In recognition of the importance of an educated population to the future well-being of rural communities, the Alberta Association of Municipal Districts and Counties established the AAMDC Scholarship Program in 1995.

The AAMDC Scholarship Program is designed to encourage young rural Albertans to pursue further education, and thereby enhance the ability of these young people to make meaningful contributions to their communities in subsequent years. Through the Scholarship Program, the AAMDC provides funding assistance to five rural students each year (one student in each of the five AAMDC geographic districts).


A scholarship in the amount of $1,000 is presented to one successful applicant from each of the five AAMDC districts.


In order to be eligible, an applicant must:

  • be a resident of a municipality which is a member in good standing of the AAMDC, including municipal districts, counties and Special Areas. Residents of cities, towns or villages are not eligible;
  • be registered in his or her first four years of study at a recognized post-secondary institution (the applicant must not have any previous degrees or diplomas). Preference will be given to candidates attending a recognized post-secondary institution in Alberta, except in instances where the chosen program of study is not available in Alberta; and be pursuing a course of studies of relevance to local government and/or rural communities. (This criterion is not intended to restrict eligibility to applicants in only a certain few programs. Instead, applicants are invited to explain the relevance of their intended study program within their letter of application.)

APPLICATION PROCEDURE (there is no formal application form)

Applications must be received no later than August 4, 2017 and must include:

  • a letter from the applicant, setting out his/her goals and objectives in pursuing further education, as well as the relevance of their study program to local government and/or rural communities;
  • official transcripts of his/her high school marks (note: photocopies are acceptable provided that the photocopy includes the signature of a school or municipal official, along with that official’s confirmation that the photocopy is a true copy of the original);
  • a brief resumé outlining employment experience, community involvement and volunteer activity, recreational and cultural pursuits, etc.;
  • written confirmation from the chief administrative officer of the local rural municipality, certifying that the applicant is a resident of the municipality.


All applications will be reviewed by a committee comprised of AAMDC board members, staff or their designates. The successful candidate will be selected based upon a combination of the following criteria:

  • citizenship and community involvement
  • academic performance
  • individual letter of application


The successful candidate will be awarded a cheque in the amount of $1,000 upon receipt of confirmation of registration at a recognized Alberta post-secondary institution.

Recipients will be notified in September. Unsuccessful applicants are encouraged to resubmit the following year if they meet the criteria.

All interested persons are invited to apply for the AAMDC Scholarship by forwarding the required information to the following address by August 4, 2017

AAMDC Scholarship Program
Attention: Cindy Carstairs
2510 Sparrow Drive Nisku, AB T9E 8N5
Phone: 780.955.4095
Fax: 780.955.3615